Chinese Folk Dance Graded Examination Syllabus

The Chinese Folk Dance Graded Examination (CFDGE) syllabus, the only authorised graded examination for Chinese Folk Dance in China, was compiled by a number of dance professionals from Beijing Dance Academy in 2004.  The syllabus encompasses the 56 ethnic groups in China over 15 grades, including 3 performance grades, and takes into consideration the different stages of mental and physical development of students.

The syllabus emphasises on honing both dance technique and performance skills, so students could enjoy learning, at the same time strengthen their physique and establish greater confidence and higher self-esteem. More importantly, learners get to learn about and experience the different cultures, customs, and characteristics of various ethnic groups in China.

More information on the syllabus can be found on CFDGE official website (in Chinese) at


Syllabus Structure

Entry Level

Grade 1   —————   for 6 to 7 years old

Grade 2   —————   for 7 to 8 years old

Grade 3   —————   for 8 to 9 years old


Grade 4   —————   for 9 to 10 years old

Grade 5   —————   for 10 to 11 years old

Grade 6   —————   for 11 to 12 years old


Grade 7   —————   for 12 to 13 years old

Grade 8   —————   for 13 to 14 years old

Grade 9   —————   for 14 to 15 years old


Grade 10  —————  for 15 to 16 years old

Grade 11  —————  for 16 to 17 years old

Grade 12  —————  for 17 to 18 years old


Chinese Folk Dance Graded Examination 2020 is scheduled to be on 28 and 29 November 2020. Registration for the Examinations is now open till 27 October 2020. Click here to download the registration form!


Singapore Chinese Dance Theatre is supported by the National Arts Council under the Major Company Scheme for the period from 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2022.

Cultural Matching Fund.png


SHHK Logo.png

© 2021 Singapore Chinese Dance Theatre.  Privacy Policy.